Buy Vouchers

Events in Athens

Filter Events by Sub-Category

Please select a Date first.

Search for a company in Athens


Login to your account below, if you do not have an account, select Register.

Or Login with your preferred Social Media Account

Sign in with Facebook Sign in with Twitter Sign in with Google

Register your account below, if you already have an account, select Login.

The amazing inventions of the Αncient Greeks


Sat Aug 1st 2015 to Sun May 8th 2016
16, Herakleidon Street, Athens, Thisseio
Museum Herakleidon

Event Details

Museum Herakleidon Annex (Ap. Pavlou St.) hosts the exhibition “The amazing inventions of the Αncient Greeks” which will last from August 1, 2015 to January 10, 2016. The exhibition presents functional models of some of the most extraordinary ancient Greek inventions; from the “robot-servant” of Philo and the “hydraulic telegraph” of Aeneas to the “cinema” of Hero, and from the automatic clock of Ctesibius and the astrolabe of Ptolemy to the “analog computer” of Antikythera. The exhibits are from the Museum of Ancient Greek Technology Kostas Kotsanas that operates at Katakolon port and Ancient Olympia (Peloponnese). They were constructed after a long and extensive study of ancient Greek, Latin and Arabic literature, information from vase painting and the few relevant archaeological finds. This exhibition aims at demonstrating that just before the end of the ancient Greek world, Αncient Greeks’ technology was shockingly similar to the beginning of our modern technology. The exhibition, which is under the auspices of the Ministry of Culture, Education and Religion, has been enriched with two new exhibits – the “turning, chirping blackcap” and the “magic dance” – as well as with a series of photographs by Anthi Xenaki, depicting the technology of the 6th cent. B.C., as evidenced by the workshops of ore refining in Lavrio. Herakleidon Museum organises a series of guided tours (in English upon request) by Kostas Kotsanas, creator of the exhibition. For more info:

View Larger Map


My Lists

Create New Guide


My Guides

Login to create your guides for Athens.

Add to My Guide

Create New Guide



Create & Share Your Own 'Mini Guide to Athens'

Create your own guide of favourite 'must see' places

Earn your Local Expert badge by Sharing your guides with others

Get your guide seen by submitting it to the Mini Guides section


Part of the My Guide Network

My Guide Athens is part of the global My Guide Network of Online & Mobile travel guides.

We are now in 120+ Destinations and Growing. If you are interested in becoming a local travel partner and would like to find out more then click for more info about our Website Business Opportunity.

Nearby Destinations

Quick Pay

Pay By Card

 Store Card Details for Quick Pay